Zombies and Fairytales for 2013

I’ve never really been a huge fan of Nicholas Hoult. He’s a bit odd, a bit cooky, and whilst I loved him in Skins, he’s not an actor I’ve been drawn too. I’ve never thought ‘Ooh, Nicholas Hoult’s in this, I have to see it‘. However, it seems as if the boy’s been busy, and there’s a couple of 2013 movies that have caught my eye. I know, there’s been a lot of film posts lately, but that’s because there’s actually a plethora of cool looking new movies coming out in 2013.

Warm Bodies

Currently in the midst of writing a zombie novella myself, Warm Bodies caught my eye for it’s different take on this traditional genre. The trailer first made me think of I, Zombie, a terrifying tale by Hugh Howey that tells the story from a zombie’s point-of-view.  That book is seriously messed up. But then, as the trailer continued, I realised that this is a light-hearted tale; boy meets girl, boy falls in love with girl, boy just happens to be a flesh eating monster.

For die-hard zombie fans, the thought that love can cure ‘zombiefication’ or whatever it’s called, is probably a step too far. But, for those who want a light hearted twist on an old genre, Warm Bodies looks pretty fun.

 

Jack the Giant Slayer

If Hoult hasn’t been busy enough finding love and coming back to life, he’s also taken time to bag the lead role alongside Ewan McGregor in a new take on Jack and the Beanstalk. 2012 saw two Snow White story’s twisted for cinema, with ‘Snow White and the Huntsman’ and ‘Mirror, Mirror’ both offering up this classic fairytale. It seems that similar new life has been breathed into Jack and the Beanstalk in this latest fantasy incarnation. I’m pretty excited to see this; the giants look cool, the cast well rounded and the cinematography spot on.

Leave a Reply

