Riddick – A New Movie

One of my favourite sci-fi movies, and one that I think is severely underrated, is Pitch Black. I LOVE this film, it has aliens, it has a hero/villain who you’re never entirely sure what he’s up too, it has ex Neighbours cast (I ALWAYS love anything that has a bit of nostalgia for me, in this case, Radha Mitchell) and I think it actually has an original ending. There were obviously enough execs and movie-goers who thought so too, and soon enough there was a sequel to follow up the 2000 movie, The Chronicles of Riddick. This time Dame Judi Dench even made an appearance – a pretty epic feature for a science fiction movie. Unfortunately, whilst I loved this film as well, it was a bit of a flop and it seemed like our favourite eye-shined Riddick had seen his last adventure. Until now, that is.

I’ve just discovered that 2013 is set to see ‘Riddick‘ released. Once again Vin Diesel’s set to be at the heart of the action, with most of the galaxy seemingly trying to kill him. No change there then. Having been at the helm of both of the former movies, writer David Twohy is back on board with the return of Riddick to the big screen, a positive step for this film. The fact that it’s been a good 9 years since the last movie also helps me believe that a convincing script and storyline has been developed. Plus – BSG fans prepare yourself’s – Katee Sackoff is also cast. Starbuck is getting set to kick some more alien butt!

I can’t wait for this movie and it’s seriously brightened my day – how did I not know about this before?!

Leave a Reply

