52 First Dates – Strategy

© Bernardo Baldiviezo 2011

With Claire’s first date looming tonight, and mine following in quick succession tomorrow, I’ve been thinking about how to go about this dating lark. I’m not in this for the fun…a guy once told me that he enjoyed dating. Enjoyed dating? What the f… Going on numerous dates with different guys, repeating the same stories over and over again, thinking you’ve found someone special only to be emotionally crushed? Boy, that really does sound like fun. No, lets be honest, I’ve been single for a decade and I don’t want to be anymore. My naively traditional heart wants the fairytale, and whilst my mind is much more realistic about long term relationships, I’m in this for the long haul.

So, how to go about making sure that I’m on the level with guys? I’ve always been pretty upfront and honest with guys, from telling them that they’re completely fit and I can’t wait to get dirty, to revealing that I’m looking for something more. I’m not trying to find mates, I have enough of those already and I don’t get to see half them enough. I’m not out for a fuck buddy – though you may have to remind me of this when a stunning, ripped and passionate guy comes along who is up for bedding me every few weeks but nothing more. I’ve been there, I’ve done that and I’ve got the emotional scars to prove it. However much of a ‘catch’ he may be, if he’s obviously NSA and I start waivering, bombard me with comments – PLEASE.

I suppose I’ll just have to be upfront. I’m not going to go into the first dates with a ring in my pocket and a mood board for the reception, but I am going to lay it on the line from my point of view and ask exactly what they’re looking for. A hint of game playing – they’re gone. An honest ‘I just want to bed you over and over for hours, but nothing more’ is pretty damn hot, but, they’ll have to be gone too. And, with 28 hours until first date number one, I’m excited to see what’s in store.

2 responses to “52 First Dates – Strategy

  1. I like your honesty Geoff. Don’t worry, at the first sniff of NSA I’ll be on the first train to London to slap you!
    Good luck for tomorrow, and the other 51 that are to come.

    • I try to be as honest as possible….best way in my personal opinion. Saves a lot of wasted time and aggro, and I also think that as much as you think honesty might hurt someone, it’ll hurt far less than telling lies which will no doubt be revealed in the future. Why lie? Honesty has a gradient too…you don’t have to blatently horribly honest if you’re trying to be gentle.

Leave a Reply

