The Passing of Characters

I’m pleased to say that over recent weeks I’ve finally managed to get myself back into the creative writing headspace. I’ve made some headway with the book which is a great relief because it was floating, almost dead in the water. Have you ever got to a stage, or chapter, that you didn’t want to write? Not because it was horrible, or hard, but because you simply didn’t know where it was going? The thought of even attempting to write it made you grimace and scrolling down the page you’d simply sit and stare a the last lines of text and the darkly looming space below? Well this is exactly what happened to me. I’d reached a point where I’d started to guide the story through its pre written path, only to get to a sticking point where I didn’t know how to get through.

The more I thought about it, the worse it became and in the end it took total relaxation to get there. It’s bizarre, you work so hard on a concept that it actually becomes difficult to write, almost stunting the flow. By simply taking a breath, moving on with the story and letting the words fall from finger to screen, I’ve guided my character through the story and off into another realm entirely. My point has come across and out of the darkness has grown some additions that I hadn’t seen coming.

This is my style of writing, I simply can’t plot what happens. I know the beginning, I know the end, and I know a few guiding milestones in the middle, but as for the story…it writes itself. The only problem with this though is that you find minor characters becoming much more than minor to you, their creater. Minor characters may make their way up the story priority list, or even if they stay minor, the simple creation of them in the first place, attaches them to the mind. I have this problem at the moment. I’ve grown ever so attached to a character, the way they’re developing, the way their skeleton is really fleshing out. The sad thing is her path is laid, and her end will be nigh in about 30,000 more words. I suppose it’ll add to the verocity of the story, but the passing of characters, no matter how inconsequential they may be, can often be very hard for any writer and I’ll be sad to write her death.

Leave a Reply

